Animal Conservation

Tamil Nadu Wildlife Council will focus on sound and foolproof policies | Chennai News

CHENNAI: The Tamil Nadu government has reconstituted the State Wildlife Council with Chief Minister MK Stalin as chairman and Forestry Minister K Ramachandran as deputy chairman.
A GO dated April 11 said the Council had been reconstituted under Section 6 of the Wildlife Protection Act 1972, with three members of the State Legislative Assembly N. Eramakrishnan, MLA , Cumbum Assembly Constituency, T Udayasuriyan, MLA, Sankarapuram Assembly Constituency and IP Senthil Kumar, MLA, Palani Assembly Constituency, as well as representatives of NGOs such as Pratim Roy from Keystone Foundation, K.Kalidasan from OSAI Environmental Organization and CP Rajkumar from Nalam Hospital. The council also includes conservationists and environmentalists, including Tarsh Thekaekara from Deivarnalai, Gudalur and Antony Clement Rubin from Chennai, and two Scheduled Tribes representatives, S. Savithri from Ambasamudaram, Tirunelveli, and S. Thangapandi from Aandipatti, Theni.
The Council will advise the state government on: the election and management of areas to be declared as protected areas; formulation of a policy for the protection and conservation of specified fauna and plants; measures to be taken to harmonize the needs of tribal people and other forest dwellers with the protection and conservation of wildlife, among others. Supriya Sahu, additional chief secretary, environment, climate change and forests, said the council aims to bring about a paradigm shift in its approach to wildlife conservation.